Behold, The New Speaker of Oyo State House of Assembly

Hon Joshua Olagunju Ojo has emerged as the new Speaker of Oyo state House of Assembly, succeeding late Michael Adeyemo who died on April 27, 2018.

Ojo was elected amid tight security on Tuesday at the sitting presided over by the Deputy Speaker, Hon Abdulwasil Musa. Ojo, a former minority leader from Orire local government defeated other contestants including the deputy speaker Honourable Abdulwasi Musah.

Hon Akeem Ige was also elected minority speaker to replace Hon Olagunju Ojo.

A lot of people including some journalists were denied access to the Assembly complex. The emergency of Hon Joshua Ojo Olagunju, who until his victory, was the Minority Leader as new speaker of the Oyo State House of Assembly is something bothering the minds of many people in Oyo state.

Olagunju emerged as the speaker following the death of Late Speaker, Rt Hon Micheal Adeyemo on Friday, April 27, 2018, at Jericho General hospital in Ibadan, the Oyo state capital.

Recall that Hon. Olagunju Ojo was earlier listed as one of the five lawmakers to be considered from the post. Olagunju Joshua represents Orire state constituency. He was the Minority leader of the House. He was elected on the platform of Labour Party.

“Baba Minor” as he is fondly called, is arguably the oldest and most experienced member of the Assembly. He was Deputy Speaker of the Assembly from 1999 to 2003; Deputy Governorship Aspirant of the Action Congress in Oyo State between 2006 and 2007.

Governor Abiola Ajimobi had earlier met with some members of the house and presented Hon. Ojo Olagunju as the candidate to be used as speaker. Sources among the lawmakers confirmed that the governor said the reason for choosing Hon Olagunju is the need to have Ogbomoso zone represented at the top level in the state.

Unconfirmed reports have it that the Governor gave those in support of his candidate, Hon Olagunju Joshua Ojo the sum of 2.5 Million naira and promised some returning tickets to the House on 2019.

With this, Hon Olagunju emerged today unopposed at the executive section of the House. Although, many people expected a tight competition with the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Musa AbdWasi but the Deputy Speaker didn’t contest. He maintains his Deputy Speakership post.


Source: InsideOyo

Leave a Reply